About us

Standard Lesotho Bank was born of the merger of Standard Lesotho Bank Lesotho and Lesotho Bank (1999) Ltd on 18 July 2006. Standard Bank Group is the majority shareholder with the Government of Lesotho and Lesotho Unit Trust owning remaining shares.

Standard Lesotho Bank has its roots set deeply in the history of Lesotho:

  • In 1995 Standard Lesotho Bank Lesotho took over the operations of Barclays Bank DCO who had first opened in Maseru in 1957
  • Lesotho Bank (1999) was formed from 02 August 1999 to privatize the previously Government owned Lesotho Bank. The formation of Standard Lesotho Bank has resulted in us being closer to our customers around the country. We operate in all 10 districts of Lesotho but our head office in Maseru. It has also enabled us to improve on what we offer our customers in the various market we serve.

What we do

We offer a wide range of banking and financial products and services to meet the banking needs of:

  • Individuals and groups
  • Businesses
  • Corporates


We provide a range of easy-to-use products and services to make looking after your money simple.


If you run a business or want start one, we have the products and services to help you to simplify your banking so you can spend more time on your business and less time on your banking.


We provide customised products to both established as well as newer, entrepreneurial companies. By focusing on personalised solutions and ongoing financial product development, we are committed to delivering solutions that support your success.

Login or Register

Select your online banking platform

Standard Bank App